Transferring ownership of titled property (vehicle, ATV, watercraft, snowmachine or mobile home) can be complicated. There are many variables which affect titling when buying or selling titled property. The information on this site may not cover your particular situation, so please contact this office with any other questions.
We have many of the forms that you will need to complete for certain situations. Just click on the link to open the forms using Adobe Acrobat. It will be necessary for you to mail or bring the forms into the County Clerk’s office.
Fees for Titles
- $15.00 New Title
- $15.00 Duplicate Title
- $10.00 Vehicle (VIN) / Hull (HIN) Identification Number Verification (if applicable)
- $20.00 File a Lien by UCC Standards (if applicable)
- $20.00 UCC Lien Search (per name)
- $5.00 Amendments, Assignments, or Continuations of a Lien
- $5.00 Terminations NO FEE unless original lien was filed prior to July 1, 1993
- Double click on SAMPLE TITLE and INFORMATION to see a sample of a title properly transferred.
- Who has to sign and notarize the previous title?
There are different laws for each 50 states. For this reason, please call the Clerk’s office for the requirements of the state issuing the previous title.
- Never buy titled property if the seller cannot show you the title, unless you can verify that the title is being held by a lien holder (bank, credit union, etc.).
- When buying titled property, make sure all previous liens have been properly released. Various states have different requirements for releasing liens so find out from the state the title and lien are issued from what the requirements are.
- You must be a Wyoming resident (residential address in Wyoming) to obtain a Wyoming certificate of title.
- If the titled property you purchase is 2011 or newer, you must have a declaration of its mileage (odometer reading). If there is no place on your title for that information, please complete an Odometer Disclosure Statement and attach it to your title. Please note, BOTH the buyer and seller must fill out their portions of this form.
- When buying titled property from any licensed Wyoming auto dealer, you must be provided with a Wyoming Sales/Use Tax form. This form pertains to the sales tax due to the Treasurer’s office, and a copy must accompany your title work.
- State of Wyoming Application for Certificate of Title and VIN/HIN Inspection Form: This form is only used when a vehicle or hull identification number inspection is necessary by the new owners of the vehicle. Please call the county clerk’s office if you are unsure if you need an inspection and this application completed.
- Affidavit and Application for obtaining DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE: If a Fremont County title has been lost, all owners whose names are on the title must fill out and sign this application and have their signature notarized. A non-refundable fee of $15.00 is required to accompany the application. By law, a duplicate title will be issued 11 days from the date the County Clerk’s office receives the application.
- Warranty and Notarization Statement: In some cases, several owners need to sign over their interest in the titled property and this can be expedited by filling in the title information and sending this form to owners to have them sign over their interest in the titled property as long as it is notarized.
- Titling a Multiple Purpose Vehicle: If you are obtaining a title for a Multiple Purpose Vehicle (MPV), also known as All-Terrain Vehicles (ATV), it will be necessary to complete and bring with you the Equipment Checklist.
- What is a vehicle (VIN) / Hull (HIN) identification number inspection? Why do I need one?
The inspection involves physically verifying the VIN/HIN number on the property to be titled and noting it on a form. VIN/HIN inspections are required on all titled property transactions, except for new purchases and Wyoming title transfers. Some people call the VIN/HIN number the Serial Number, they are the same thing.
VIN/HIN inspections are required by state law on out of state property. The inspection verifies that the property you purchased belongs to the documents given to you. If your title has an incorrect VIN/HIN you will have trouble selling the property or in proving you are the rightful owner.
A VIN/HIN inspection in Fremont County is performed by any Wyoming Law Officer. (If necessary, an out of state law officer may perform the inspection.) If you pay a fee to the officer, bring the receipt with your or the fee will be collected by the Clerk’s office if you do not have proof of payment.
A State of Wyoming Application for Certificate of Title and VIN/HIN Inspection Form has the VIN/HIN inspection information on the bottom half. Law enforcement usually has these forms in their possession.
- The AFFIDAVIT OF FACTS FORM FC7-17 form is used in the event an error is made when a title is being transferred, this form may be used to rectify that error.
- In most cases, the dealer from whom you purchase the new property will forward your paperwork to our office or to your finance institution if the property is financed. Make sure you ask the dealer how the paperwork is being handled.
- In some cases, the dealer or lender may have you sign the application, and you need only obtain a copy of the title after you have paid sales tax at the Treasurer’s office.
- If, however, the dealer or lender has given you the paperwork you will need the following:
- The original MSO properly signed by the dealership.
- The Wyoming Sales/Use Tax form provided by the dealer.
- An Odometer Disclosure Statement or the odometer disclosure portion of the MSO properly completed.
- An Affidavit of Vehicle Valuation – this document states the manufacturer’s suggested retail price of the property, not necessarily the price paid for the property and is the basis on which the Treasurer’s office will compute the cost of license plates.
- Please contact the Treasurer’s Office for information you will need to register your titled property and get a license plate after you have a title in your name.
- Title must be signed by ALL owners shown on the title face and all signatures notarized.
- Any liens showing on the front of the title must be released. You will need to bring a Termination Statement (lien release) with you if lien does not show released on the title.
- The chain of ownership must be shown. If purchased through a dealer.
- Odometer Disclosure Statement for 2011 vehicles newer. See information above.
- Security Agreement (if loan on the property). You must have an original or copy with names and addresses. It must also include the year, make and VIN/HIN number of all titled vehicles and the loan amount due.
- Funds to pay all fees. The County Clerk’s office accepts cash, checks, and debit/credit cards (you must pay a fee to the card company to use a charge card).
- You will be required to pay sales tax to the County Treasurer’s office before the title is released to you. If you owe money on your property, the title will be forwarded to the lending institution after sales tax is paid. There may be a situation where you do NOT owe sales tax; however, all customers must confer with the Treasurer’s office on this matter before we can release the title.
- Previous Out-of-State title must be properly signed by owners shown on the title as required by that state.
- The chain of ownership must be shown, if purchased through a dealer.
- Odometer Disclosure Statement for 2011 vehicles or newer. See information above.
- VIN/HIN inspections are required by state law on out of state property.
- Security Agreement (if loan on the property). You must have an original or copy with names and addresses. It must also include the year, make and VIN number of all titled property and the loan amount due.
- Funds to pay all fees. The County Clerk’s office accepts cash, checks, and debit/credit cards (you must pay a fee to the card company to use these).
- You will be required to pay sales tax to the County Treasurer’s office before the title is released to you. If you owe money on your vehicle, the title will be forwarded to the lending institution after sales tax is paid. There may be a situation where you do NOT owe sales tax; however, all customers must confer with the Treasurer’s office on this matter before we can release the title.
- If you need to change the names on a title due to a death or divorce, please call our office to make sure you have all the proper paperwork. Many times, it is necessary to bring court papers, death certificates or to consult a lawyer to obtain the proper paperwork.
- You are also welcome to bring what you have available to our office for our review, however, be prepared to obtain other documents before having a title made.
As each situation is different, please bring both the Steps to Complete Fremont County Affidavit of Ownership for a Bonded Title to the Clerk’s office for final determination of the exact process you will need to follow. Be prepared to obtain other documents before having a title made.
OBTAINING A STATE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN)
If you need to obtain a state assigned VIN for your titled property as you have a homemade or rebuilt piece of property, please go to http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/titles_plates_registration/vin.htmlfor further explanation, instructions and forms.
OBTAINING A WYOMING WATERCRAFT REGISTRATION NUMBER
In order to receive a title for a watercraft you must have a registration number assigned by the Wyoming Game and Fish. For further instructions and application go to http://gf.state.wy.us/downloads/pdf/Apps/watercraft.pdf.
OBTAINING A GAME AND FISH HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (HIN)
- When you have the HIN inspected, if the officer indicates that it is not a valid HIN (or you do not have a HIN), you need to contact Suzie Salazar at the Game and Fish for information on receiving a State Assigned HIN at (307)-777-4686.
- The Game and Fish will have you send a copy of the Application for Certificate of Title to them so you can be assigned a HIN. The Game and Fish will send you a letter assigning the number called a Certificate of Assignment of Hull Identification Number (HIN).
- You will need to attach the HIN number to your watercraft, and have it re-inspected by law enforcement verifying that you have attached the number appropriately. This inspection form is incorporated into the HIN Assignment letter.
- Once law enforcement has signed off on the placement of the HIN, you will bring the form along with your Application for Certificate of Title and any other documentation to the County Clerk’s office so that we may issue you a title.
Storage Lien Documentation and Packet (updated July 2021)
Contact us at: email@example.com
Mailing Address: FREMONT COUNTY CLERK, 450 NORTH 2ND ST., ROOM 220, LANDER WY 82520